Eight-tone scale (diminished scale) for guitar

The eight-tone scale is constructed by alternating whole step and half step intervals. This construction gives the scale 8 notes per octave. The eight-tone scale is also called the diminished scale. The eight-tone scale can also begin with a half step, sometimes referred to as a "half-whole diminished". Ex: C eight-tone scale consists of C, D, Eb, F, Gb, Ab, A and B.

Intervals: 1----1----1----1-- or --1----1----1----1

Chord fit: dim7

8-tone, 1- ...

8-tone scale

8-tone, -1 ...

8-tone scale